Ethnography Museum of Izmir and its History
The BuildingIn 1831 this building was known as the St. Roch Hospital, it was built in a neoclassic style and sited on a sloped terrace. The French renovated the building in 1845 and converted it to a poor house for Christian families; it has also been a Sanitation Institution and a Health Directorate. After being transferred to the Ministry of Culture and Tourism in 1984 it became a museum.
The MuseumThe museum is built over three floors; the first and second are used as exhibition halls and the third is a warehouse, laboratory, photograph studio and offices.
The exhibition halls show the social life of Izmir and its surrounding areas in the 19th century along with handmade crafts such as tin processing, the production of bath clogs, blue beads, felt, rope, wooden printing, carpet weaving and leather processing, all of which are arts that have been dying out due to modern industrialisation.
On the first floor there is a model of a 19th century guest room that has hand ornaments and bath sets with objects from the first Turkish pharmacy in the Izmir Province and also from the famous sherbet maker Demirhindi. There is Menemen pottery, camels and camel fighting paraphernalia, public games and clothing worn by Aegean men, with showcases housing moneybags, mother-of-pearl inlaid objects glass and handmade ornaments.
The second floor has a 19th century bride room showcasing wedding dresses and bridal headgear from the Aegean region, a living room, a Sunna room and kitchen goods along with ornaments for women, Ottoman coins, and handwritten books and writing sets.
Ege Park Shopping Centre
Meyhane Sisim Izmir
Agora of Smyrna Izmir
Turkey Property For Sale
3 Bedroom Detached Villa offering
Luxury 3 bedroom Detached Villa
Great villa by reasonable price
Land for Sale in Sarigerme